

# **FARNHAM TOWN COUNCIL**

Agenda
Full Council

## Time and date

7.00pm on Thursday 21st May 2015

#### **Place**

The Council Chamber, South Street, Farnham, GU9 7RN

TO: ALL MEMBERS OF THE COUNCIL

Dear Councillor

You are hereby summoned to attend a Meeting of FARNHAM TOWN COUNCIL to be held on THURSDAY21st MAY 2015, at 7.00PM, in the COUNCIL CHAMBER, SOUTH STREET, FARNHAM, SURREY GU9 7RN. The Agenda for the meeting is attached

Yours sincerely

10:hr

Iain Lynch Town Clerk

#### **Members' Apologies**

Members are requested to submit their apologies and any Declarations of Interest on the relevant form attached to this agenda to Ginny Gordon, by 5 pm on the day before the meeting.

# **Recording of Council Meetings**

This meeting is digitally recorded for the use of the Council only. Members of the public may be recorded or photographed during the meeting and should advise the Clerk *prior to the meeting* if there are any concerns about this.

Members of the Public are welcome and have a right to attend this Meeting. Please note that there is a maximum capacity of 30 in the public gallery



# FARNHAM TOWN COUNCIL

Agenda

Annual Meeting of Full Council

# Time and date

7.00pm on Thursday 21st May 2015.

#### **Place**

The Council Chamber, South Street, Farnham

Prior to the meeting prayers will be said by Pastor Michael Hall of the Farnham Pentecostal Church.

#### I Election of the Town Mayor

To elect the Town Mayor for the municipal year 2015/2016.

# 2 The Town Mayor to make the Declaration of Acceptance of Office

To receive the Mayor's Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

#### 3 Apologies

To receive apologies for absence.

#### 4 Minutes

To agree the Minutes of the meeting held on April 16th 2015

#### 5 Disclosure of Interests

To receive from members, in respect of any items included on the agenda for this meeting, disclosure of any disclosable pecuniary or other interests, or of any gifts and hospitality, in line with the Town Council's Code of Conduct.

#### **NOTES:**

- (i) The following councillors have made a general non-pecuniary interest declaration in relation to being councillors of Waverley Borough Council: Cllrs Blagden, Cockburn, Fraser, Frost, Hargreaves, Hill, Hodge, Hyman, Macleod, Mirylees, Potts, Ward and Williamson.
- (ii) The following councillor has made a general non-pecuniary interest declaration in relation to her being a councillor of Surrey County Council: Cllr Frost.
- (iii) Members are requested to make declarations of interest, on the form attached, to be returned to ginny.gordon@farnham.gov.uk by 5pm on the day before the meeting.

Members are reminded that if they declare a pecuniary interest they must leave before any debate starts unless dispensation has been obtained.

#### 6 Election of Deputy Town Mayor

To elect the Deputy Town Mayor for the municipal year 2015/2016.

# 7 The Deputy Town Mayor to make the Declaration of Acceptance of Office To receive the Deputy Town Mayor's Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

#### 8 Vote of Thanks to Retiring Town Mayor

To receive the Vote of Thanks for the retiring Town Mayor Cllr Jeremy Ricketts.

## 9 Presentation of Past Town Mayor's and Past Mayoress' Badge

Past Town Mayor's Badge and Past Town Mayoress' badge to be presented to Cllr Jeremy Ricketts and Mrs Debbie Ricketts

## 10 Appointment of a Lead Member/Spokesperson for the Council

In accordance with Standing Order 4.1, a Leader or Spokesperson for the Council can be appointed at the Annual Council Meeting but if no appointment is made, the role of Spokesperson for the Council will be undertaken by the Lead Member of the Strategy and Finance Working Group.

# 11 Power of General Competence

To resolve to readopt the Power of General Competence. Farnham Town Council meets the eligibility criteria as i) all councillors hold office as a result of being declared elected (as opposed to being appointed or co-opted); ii) the clerk is suitably qualified (holding the Certificate in Local Council Administration -CILCA) and iii) the clerk has completed the relevant training in the exercise of the power.

#### 12 Date of next Meeting

To note that the date of the next meeting will be on Thursday 4th June at 7.00pm.

The Town Mayor will close the meeting and invite Members and invited guests to stay for light refreshments.

# Membership:

Councillors: Jeremy Ricketts (Mayor), Jill Hargreaves (Deputy Mayor), David Attfield, Patrick Blagden CBE, Carole Cockburn, Paula Dunsmore, John Scott Fraser, Pat Frost, Stephen Hill, Mike Hodge, Sam Hollins-Owen, Mike Hyman, Andy Macleod, Kika Mirylees, Julia Potts, Susan Redfern, John Ward, John Williamson.

Distribution: Full agenda and supporting papers to all Councillors (by post)

Note: The person to contact about this agenda and documents is lain Lynch, Town Clerk, Farnham Town Council, South Street, Farnham, Surrey, GU9 7RN. Tel: 01252 712667